A Single Week Without Facebook! Oh no!

4 Mar

A few hours with out Facebook? Sure I can do that! A day or two without Facebook? Why not? How about an entire week without Facebook? Now that is a test. Can today’s generation of Facebook users go a week without this social networking site? It really is a test to see how addicting this “drug” is for us.

After reading the article, Who am We? by Sherry Turkle, I began to think about how I look on the internet and what my identity appears to be. Furthermore, “how computers are not just changing our lives but changing our selves,” (Turkle, 1). I would have to agree that the Internet has changed my identity. Between my Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Gmail, and Optonline account, I have different identities on each one of them. Facebook is the way to connect with my friends and family that are all over the nation. Twitter is a way to talk with people who are branched more locally. And the rest are other personal and school emails.

Do I miss Facebook? I mean yes and no. Am I tempted to go on Facebook? Some of the time and it is when I am on my phone and see the bookmarks on my Internet home page. Then the weekend rolled around, a lot of my family was visiting, and I began too want to go on Facebook. Mainly, because everyone was talking about things they posted about traveling, their kids, or something funny they saw at the airport. I thought that it would be easier to be off Facebook when I was at home; however, it wasn’t easier than being at school. While being at school and not having Facebook I was able to be far more productive and get my homework and reading done earlier in the day.

Then I really began to think about my daily usage of Facebook. I get on in the morning first thing when I wake up and check all of the sites: Twitter, Facebook, and Pinterest, while I am doing this I usually eat my breakfast. Throughout the day I have notifications on my iPhone that keep me very up to date on all my social networking websites (Not necessary and almost wishing I didn’t have it at times). Every time I open my computer I check Facebook and Twitter even if I am just jumping on the computer to Google something. These social networking sites like Facebook and Twitter make a less than 5 minutes task anywhere from a fifteen to twenty minute task. When I sit down to do my homework it takes me another ten to twenty minutes to check each site and then shut it down and do my work. It is amazing how much of a waste of time Facebook is on a daily basis.

On Tuesday, when the Facebook strike is over, I am sure I will jump back on Facebook. However, I am really going to relook at everything I have online and to make sure the identity I propose to the cyber world is one that I am happy with. Even though I am already really careful with what I put on the Internet, after reading Turkle’s article I want to make sure that Facebook is not allowing me to, “discover things about yourself that [I] never knew before,” that are not positive qualities or different from my true identity off of the internet.

It will be interesting to see if I can stay off Facebook longer then Tuesday, or will I be ready to instantly jump on the computer and see everything I may have missed in the past week. To think of a life without Facebook is insane. For every time I go one Facebook I waste at least fifteen minutes and I go on at least six times in a single day. That makes an hour and a half each day, and then ten and a half hours each week. That is a lot of time that I could be using for homework, reading, or studying instead of seeing what all of my “Friends” or “Followers” are doing with their lives. As a future teacher that extra hour and half each day or ten hours a week will be crucial when planning lesson plans and activities for my classroom.

Leave a Reply

