Safe Shopping?

8 Mar

I never would’ve thought that when I went shopping at Target or any other store for the matter, I would be tracked for everything I do. It is crazy to me that when you enter a store you are given a code that detects so much about you just by what you buy. I’m honestly a little creeped out by the fact that Target can find out my age, where I live, and other demographics about me by what I purchase at their store. Andrew Pole, is somewhat of a genius though. For one person to come up a way to figure this all out is amazing as creepy as it is.

I feel violated and almost afraid to shop now because I don’t need random people knowing all of this information about me. Especially the fact that they can purchase more information on a person that they cannot find out themselves. I understand it is all for revenue and to get people to keep coming back into the store, but don’t enough people shop there already? Is it necessary to do all these sneaky things behind people’s backs to try to get them to shop at Target? I don’t think it is. As smart of a thing this was to create and it could change the whole outlook on shopping, I don’t think it is right to do. People have the right to at least some sort of privacy and this is completely violating it.

One Response to “Safe Shopping?”

  1. goodtogoclothing March 8, 2012 at 11:34 am #

    Great post really enjoyed reading it.

    http;//www.goodtogoclothing.co.uk

Leave a Reply

